As the infrastructural facilities for promotion of tourism in Goa improved considerably and Goa was projected onto the world map of tourism, an urgent need was felt for the members of the travel, hotel and tourist trade to have a common platform by bridging various segments like airlines, hotels, travel agents, tour operators, tourist offices and surface transportation.


About 15 individuals representing different organizations engaged in the tourism trade in Goa, met at the initiative of the then Director of Tourism Shri V.A.P. Mahajan and decided to form a CLUB known as the Goa Travel & Tourism Club which came into existence in 1977. It was inaugurated on 4th  July 1977 at the hands of the then Chief Minister of Goa, Daman & Diu Smt. Shashikala Kakodkar, its founder President being the Late Lenny Pinto.


The Goa Travel & Tourism Club was operated initially from Hotel Mandovi, Panaji till an office premises was purchased at Rayu Chambers, Dr. Atmaram Borkar Road, Panaji in the year 1990 and later on shifted to a more spacious premise at Dempo Towers, Patto, Panaji.  It was registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860 on 21st  March 1990.  The name was changed to “Travel & Tourism Association of Goa” (TTAG) on 17th March 1994.


Over the last 34 years this Association has grown in membership of 190 members having approximately 600 units in Goa.  Today it is the leading apex organization working hand in hand with the Government on all matters concerning tourism. It caters to its member’s problems, trying to resolve them with the help of governmental agencies and other bodies. Moreover it allows a platform where members can meet one another during General Body Meetings, held in different hotels every quarterly.  Besides this, it helps different companies to showcase their tourism-related products to members during the meetings which greatly benefits the members.

TTAG is represented on Government and other committees:

  • Goa Tourism Board
  • Government Planning Board
  • Goa Tourism Development Corporation (GTDC) Board of Directors
  • Goa Airport Advisory Committee
  • Regional Advisory Committee of Customs & Central Excise
  • ITI Centre of Excellence Government of Goa
  • Goa Chamber of Commerce & Industry (GCCI)
  • CII (Confederation of India Industries)
  • Member of IHM & Catering Technology under Tourism Industry at Farmagudi
  • Goa State Pollution Control Board (GSPCB)
  • High Powered Monitoring Committee
  • State Level Permission Committee (SLPC)
  • Customs Public Grievance Committee
  • State Level Marketing And Promotions Committee (SLMPC)
  • Various Health Department Committees